Ashtanga Yoga was developed by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. Ashtanga Yoga revolves in Pattanjali's idea that the path of purification is composed of eight limbs of Yoga. Pattabhi Jois said that it is no possible to practice the eight spiritual practices when the body is fragile and the organs are inundated with hindrances. Ashtanga Yoga requires the practice of Asanas in order to improve the body’s state of health and make it physically powerful.

The Eight limbs of Yoga are:
  1. Yama – Self-restraint or ethical conduct
  2. Niyama – Personal and religious observance of purity, devotion and study
  3. Asana – Physical activity
  4. Pranayama – Breath control or regulation
  5. Pratyahara – Abstraction of the senses
  6. Dharana – Concentration
  7. Dhyana – Meditation that leads to Samadhi
  8. Samadhi – Absorption in the sublime and blissful awareness
Ashtanga Yoga is a vigorous, athletic style of practice; it brings strength, flexibility, and stamina. The postures are more difficult than those performed in other styles, participants move through a series of flows that will help the muscles to be very flexible and help the body avoid damages due to the physically challenging style of Ashtanga. The so-called Power Yoga is based on Ashtanga.

Other types of Yoga include:
Ashtanga Yoga

Hatha yoga
Vinyasa yoga
Ashtanga yoga
Iyengar yoga
Kundalini yoga
Bikram yoga
Kripalu yoga
Sivananda yoga
Raja yoga
Mantra yoga
Purna yoga
Bhakti yoga
Jnana yoga
Karma yoga