Hatha Yoga When people in the West talk about Yoga, they are generally thinking of Hatha Yoga, Hatha Yoga is the best known Yoga Style in the West, it was introduced by Yogi Swatmarama. Hatha Yoga originated several different types of Yoga originated such as Ashtanga Yoga; Power Yoga; Bikram Yoga, Kundalini Yoga, Iyengar Yoga. The word “Hatha” is derived from the Sanskrit terms “ha” which means “sun” and “tha” which means “moon”, Hatha Yoga refers to positive and to negative energy flows in the body, the concept of Yin and Yang,

Hatha Yoga focuses on the physical Yoga postures and control of the breath. Hatha Yoga tries to attain balance between body and mind regulating the flow of energy through the body by physical poses or Asanas, Pranayama (breathing) and Dhyana (meditation). Hatha Yoga focuses on easy poses at a very relaxing pace.

The better way to practice Hatha Yoga is to begin in a contemplative mood, sit quietly for a few moments and calm down; thereafter you can start with the Hatha Yoga practice. Postures might involve sitting, reclining, inversions, twists and other positions held for long periods of time, the body rapidly responds to yoga postures. The word Asana means comfortable, Asanas are intended to ease tense muscles, to help to align the vertebrae, to tone up the internal organs, to improve flexibility to the body. Hatha Yoga stimulates cardiovascular, digestive, epidermal, nervous and endocrine systems of the body. The final result is better mental clarity, emotional stability and a physical sense of well-being.

Hatha Yoga attaches a lot of importance to the physical body as a way to achieve spiritual excellence.

Other types of Yoga include:

Hatha yoga
Vinyasa yoga
Ashtanga yoga
Iyengar yoga
Kundalini yoga
Bikram yoga
Kripalu yoga
Sivananda yoga
Raja yoga
Mantra yoga
Purna yoga
Bhakti yoga
Jnana yoga
Karma yoga