Kripalu Yoga Kripalu Yoga was developed by Yogi Amrit Desai. Kripalu Yoga is known as the Yoga of consciousness; it is an efficient method of achieving personal growth and self empowerment, this Yoga style is well known for being a placid practice that puts importance on practicing compassion in daily life. Kripalu literally means being compassionate.

The primary purpose of Kripalu Yoga is to have an integrated mind, body, and energy. Kripalu Yoga has three stages: the first phase focuses on learning the postures to explore your bodies abilities letting Prana (life force) flow strongly all throughout the body; the second phase puts importance on meditation and inner awareness, the ability of holistic growth is greatly increased in this stage; the mind, body and spirit are united in the third stage, in this phase the practice of poses becomes a natural vibrant movement.

Kripalu Yoga practitioners believe that Prana is easily affected by thoughts or worries. Kripalu Yoga improves awareness of Prana and prevents this from being bothered. Yoga works on the muscular, respiratory, circulatory, digestive, immune and nervous systems reducing anxiety and stress, increasing relaxation, strength and energy levels. Also, practitioners learn to be open to what others have to offer.

Other types of Yoga include:

Hatha yoga
Vinyasa yoga
Ashtanga yoga
Iyengar yoga
Kundalini yoga
Bikram yoga
Kripalu yoga
Sivananda yoga
Raja yoga
Mantra yoga
Purna yoga
Bhakti yoga
Jnana yoga
Karma yoga