Kundalini yoga Kundalini yoga is the yoga of consciousness; it was introduced to the West by Sikh Yogi Bhajan in 1969. The practice of Kundalini Yoga includes chanting, breathing practices, Asanas, finger movements and meditation. Kundalini Yoga focuses on purifying the mind, body and emotions.

This Yoga style promotes physical vigour and stimulates the mindís power. Kundalini Yoga has precise postures (kriyas) which combined with chanting and breathing exercises work on exactly those parts of the body that require work obtaining precise and immediate benefits. Kundalini Yoga allows sex as a means to illumination and knowledge.

Each person has an enormous Shakti (spiritual energy) symbolised as a coiled snake (Kundalini) which lies at the base of the spine, this has to be awakened, when awakened; this energy passes through each one of the seven Chakras or centres of consciousness located in the spine. This is the spiritual state. To awaken the Kundalini, one must maintain habits such as practice regular exercise; eat high quality food; has healthy relationships with other persons and possess qualities like diet control, good temperament, strength of mind, determination among others.

Other types of Yoga include:

Hatha yoga
Vinyasa yoga
Ashtanga yoga
Iyengar yoga
Kundalini yoga
Bikram yoga
Kripalu yoga
Sivananda yoga
Raja yoga
Mantra yoga
Purna yoga
Bhakti yoga
Jnana yoga
Karma yoga